VICTORY! CPMA/APMA Celebrate Tremendous Win on E/M Codes!


CPMA joins APMA in celebrating another major advocacy win.  CMS  has released the 2019 Medicare Physician Fee Schedule final rule. The final rule did not include the originally proposed podiatry-specific E/M codes, which would have reimbursed at a significantly lower rate than codes for the same care provided by other physicians.

Hundreds of CPMA Members answered the clarion call to contact the Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services (CMS) and their Congressional Representatives to lodge their clear and compelling opposition to the blatantly biased and punitive proposal.   

The California Podiatric Medical Association extends its sincere gratitude to Dr. Franklin Kase, Chair, Health Policy Committee; the American Podiatric Medical Association, Members, colleagues, patients, family and friends who joined in this broad, tireless and ultimately successful grassroots campaign. CPMA also thanks the other members of The House of Medicine and the Congressional Representatives who joined with podiatry in strongly opposing the proposed rule.

"Today we saw proof that when APMA members work together toward a common goal, we can do great things," said APMA President Dennis R. Frisch, DPM.